Learn about the dedicated board of directors, national president and national board of advisors who provide guidance and leadership to MADD.

National Board of Directors

MADD's national board of directors is made up of volunteers – most of whom began their involvement at MADD by volunteering their time at local MADD offices in their communities – and nationally recognized researchers and business leaders. 

David Strickland, Chair of the Board
David Strickland served as the 14th NHTSA Administrator, appointed by President Barack Obama, from 2010-2014.


Board Officers

Mahesh Shetty - Treasurer
Steven Benvenisti - Vice Chair
Barbara Brodt- Secretary

At Large:
Brad Bulla

View all National Board of Directors.

National Senior Leaders

Chief Executive Officer – Debbie Weir
Debbie Weir joined the National Office of Mothers Against Drunk Driving in 2002 as leader of Victim Services. Now as CEO, Weir leads MADD’s nationwide efforts to save lives and prevent injuries associated with drunk driving.

National President – Colleen Sheehey-Church 
Colleen Sheehey-Church joined MADD in 2005, a year after her 18-year-old son Dustin drowned after the car he was riding in, driven by a teen with alcohol and drugs in her system, crashed into a river, trapping Dustin in the vehicle.

Vicki Knox - Chief Operating Officer
Vicki Knox joined Mothers Against Drunk Driving in 2004 as the East Texas Affiliate Executive Director. Now as COO, Knox leads more than 200 MADD chapters and affiliates across the country.


JT Griffin - Chief Government Affairs Officer
J.T. Griffin currently serves as Chief Government Affairs Officer with Mothers Against Drunk Driving. Griffin leads MADD’s efforts to shape federal, state, and local policy toward the goal of eliminating drunk driving in the U.S.


Lista Hightower - Chief Financial Officer
Lista Hightower is the Chief Financial Officer for Mothers Against Drunk Driving. Hightower joined MADD in 2008 and leads the national financial operations, information technology and financial and tax reporting.


Amy George - Senior Vice President of Giving, Marketing & Communications
Amy George is Senior Vice President of Giving, Marketing & Communications for Mothers Against Drunk Driving. George was a member of the MADD National Communications department from 2002 to 2007 and returned to MADD in 2014 to join the senior leadership team.


Adam Vanek - General Counsel
Adam Vanek joined Mothers Against Drunk Driving in 2011 as the Associate General Counsel. Now as General Counsel, Vanek oversees and provides leadership for the legal affairs of the charity, including corporate governance activities, state and federal regulatory compliance, litigation management, trademark enforcement, and labor and employment issues.


Ruth Wadsworth - Senior Director of Human Resources
Ruth Wadsworth is the Senior Director of Human Resources for Mothers Against Drunk Driving. Wadsworth joined MADD in 2006 and now oversees the organization’s benefits, compensation, employee relations and recruitment efforts.