Michigan is one of the lowest rated states for its drunk driving laws. Action by lawmakers in 2013 extended the .08 BAC per se limit until 2018. MADD calls on Michigan lawmakers to make .08 BAC permanent and to enact legislation requiring ignition interlocks for all convicted drunk drivers. Michigan would also benefit from high-visibility law enforcement activities. Find out more about Michigan's igntion interlock laws
267 representing 28% of all total traffic deaths, a 25.9% increase from last year.26,845
For more information on statistics, please contact MADD's Government Affairs department at email@example.com.
SAMHSA Report to Congress on The Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking, May 2011
NOTE: Binge Alcohol Use is defined as drinking five or more drinks on the same occasion (i.e., at the same time or within a couple hours of each other) on at least 1 day in the past 30 days.
Statutes providing for penalties to be brought against a drunk driver who kills another person through the operation of a motor vehicle, either intentionally or negligently.
Social host laws allow for adults to be held responsible to furnishing alcohol to those under 21 years old
Primary Belt Law
Statutes which allow for law enforcement to issue a fine or citation on the sole grounds of a vehicle occupant not wearing a safety belt
Mandatory BAC Test for Drivers Who are Killed
Statutes which create mandatory testing for all drivers killed in vehicle crashes.
Mandatory Alcohol Assessment/Treatment
Law that mandates all convicted DUI/DWI offenders undergo an assessment of alcohol abuse problems and participate in required treatment program.
Statutes which allow for a judge or administrative agency to order a convicted drunk driver to operate a vehicle equipped with an ignition interlock device for a period of time following a conviction for drunk driving
Law that makes DUI/DWI a felony offense based on the number of prior convictions.
DUI Child Endangerment
Statutes which allow for additional penalties for a drunk driving conviction with a child passenger in a vehicle
Laws allowing liability of establishments arising out of the sale of alcohol to obviously intoxicated persons or minors who subsequently cause death or injury to third-parties as a result of alcohol-related crashes.
.08 Per Se Law
Law that makes it illegal to operate a motor vehicle at or above .08 Blood Alcohol Concentration.
Click below to see what legislative activities MADD is spearheading in your state*. From there, you can send a personalized letter or e-mail to your representatives about the issues important to you.
By participating, you will help pass legislation to keep our roads safe from drunk driving and to prevent underage drinking.
It takes only two minutes, but the impact can last a lifetime.