Media Center

Featured Press Release

New Study Finds Ignition Interlocks Reduce Fatal Drunk Driving Crashes by 7% (01/05/2017)
WASHINGTON, D.C. (January 5, 2017) — Mothers Against Drunk Driving applauds a new study by researchers at Johns Hopkins University, published today in the American Journal of Preventive Medicine, that reports a 7 percent reduction in fatal drunk driving crashes in states that require ignition interlocks for all drunk driving offenders.

Featured MADD Statement

MADD’s response to Ethan Couch’s attorneys' attempt to release him from jail

DALLAS, TEXAS (August 31, 2016): “Today, an attempt by Ethan Couch’s attorneys to challenge the criminal court’s jurisdiction in order to get the teen released from jail is just another cruel antic to evade justice. 720 days in jail for his crimes was not enough, therefore anything less is certainly not enough. The idea that the criminal court doesn’t have jurisdiction is ludicrous. He was a criminal the night he killed four people and injured numerous others while driving drunk. He was a criminal when he failed to show up to a meeting with his probation officer in December of last year. And he was a criminal when he fled the country in violation of his probation. Any attempt by his attorneys to argue differently should be rejected by the courts, and Ethan Couch must remain in jail.”

MADD National Communications

MADD has grown into one of the nation’s most widely respected non-profit organizations, with experts available to media for questions about Drunk Driving, Underage Drinking and Victim Services 24 hours a day, seven days a week. If you are a member of a news or media organization, please contact our media relations desk in the U.S.:
By phone:  877.ASK.MADD
By email:

To receive our news electronically, subscribe to our RSS feed.  

  Follow us        Become a fan        Subscribe to our Press Releases  


David Strickland, Chair of the Board
Debbie Weir, Chief Executive Officer 
Colleen Sheehey-Church, National President